The shortlist has been announced for The Christian Storyteller Prize, Africa’s premiere prize for faith-based literature. The list contains the top 15 of over 500 short story entries centering on this year’s theme of Christian Persecution.

Recall that Bestselling Author and Filmmaker, Laju Iren, founded The Christian Storyteller Prize with the launch of its first edition on August 26th, 2020.

While thanking the judges and volunteers for their contributions towards the ongoing success of the prize, Iren said: “It has become imperative that we intentionally tell Christian stories, creatively, accurately and frequently. It might not always make the headlines, but the truth remains that Christian persecution is on a dangerous rise in Nigeria, with reports saying that at least 620 believers have been killed for their faith within the first half of 2020. This is the reason for our theme this year. I truly believe that stories change our minds by targeting our hearts. Our desire with the CSP to shine the spotlight on these issues while playing our part in ensuring that freedom of worship, a basic human right is upheld in Nigeria and across the continent.”

The shortlist is only the first stage of selection.

The panel of judges, led by Ms. Tobi Eyinade, Founder of Rovingheights books, will select the top three winners who will be announced at the Christian Storyteller Awards holding virtually on Thursday, November 26th, 2020.

The winner of the competition will walk away with a cash prize of N100,000, and a writing scholarship worth over N250,000 while the first runner up will win N50,000. Those in third to fifth places will also win consolation prizes.

Administrative head at the Prize, Mrs. Bologi Stephen said: “With the Prize well received by Nigerian writers, the team anticipated about 200 entries, however, when submissions closed on the 26th of September 2020, we were pleasantly surprised to receive well over 500 well written entries. Due to the number of entries received, it was necessary for the team to extend the review period and properly review each entry. As such, the announcement of the Winner, which had been scheduled for 26th October 2020 had to be extended to 26th November 2020.”

In no particular order, the top 15 entries who made the shortlist include:

Chisom Stephen – @thechisomstephen

Uzoamaka Uchechi Uchenyi – @sohana_uche

Angela Edhere – @astoldbyangi

Light Anosike – @scandalfree

Blessing Judith Ogazie – @ogazieblessingjudith

Fayokemi Sanwoolu – @fayosanwo

Dominion Kolude – @dominionkolude

Chinedu Mpamugo – @graceandgenius

Isaac Yinka Aina – @ainaisaacyinka

Omobolanle Abiola – @beespeaks

Janet Kareem – @jane_kareem

Noyor Amorighoye – @noyorAmor

Mayowa Oluwashanu – @m_m_mayowa

Eseoghene Okpewho – @theafrican

Chioma Azolike – @chiomaazolike

In addition to Ms Eyinade, judges who will decide the winner of this year’s Prize include: renowned journalist, Kehinde Ajose, and Bestselling authors, Tope Omotosho and Bisola Badejo.

To learn more about the prize, visit our Instagram Page. 

(Visited 992 times, 1 visits today)

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *