TCSP  FEBRUARY 14 2022  

The shortlist has been announced for The Christian Storyteller Prize, Africa’s premiere prize for faith-based literature. This year’s competition embraced a new category in addition to the short stories category – the short film. The list contains the top 20 of well over 500 entries centering on this year’s theme God’s Rainbow.
Bestselling Author and Filmmaker, Laju Iren, founded The Christian Storyteller Prize with the launch of its first edition on August 26th, 2020. As God’s Storyteller, she has pushed the narrative that christian writers must intentionally tell Christian stories, creatively, accurately and frequently because in her words, “stories change our minds by targeting our hearts.”

The theme for this edition of TCSP, God’s Rainbow is focused on sexuality and God’s never wavering love amidst depravity. Our desire with the CSP is to shine the spotlight on these issues while playing our part in ensuring that the truth is taught.

The shortlist is only the first stage of selection.
The panel of judges, led by Ms. Tobi Eyinade, Founder of Rovingheights books, will select the top three winners for the short story category and one winner for the short film category. The winners will be announced at the Christian Storyteller Awards holding virtually.
The winner of the competition will walk away with a cumulative prize of $1,000 both in cash and in trainings.

Administrative head at the Prize, Ubong Sagay said: “TCSP is gradually gaining momentum and acceptance in the hearts of people. We hope to do more and expand our reach in subsequent editions. We will keep shining the light on burning issues and ensuring that we do our bit to promote Christ centred stories.”

In no particular order, the top 20 shortlisted entries include:

  1. Temiloluwa Johnson
  2. Marie Chikelu
  3. Hannah Enyawuile
  4. Chukwufumnaya Alekwe
  5. FearGod Okeke
  6. Soludo Chukwuma
  7. Allgain Dilosi
  8. Noella Lepdung
  9. Faith Ayeni
  10. Precious Okwuosa
  11. Pearl Ogbonna
  12. Tioluwaniase Onapajo
  13. Oluwatobi Elegbeleye
  14. Fayo Sanwo
  15. Oluwatoyin Famoroti
  16. Praise Ademola
  17. Oluwatomiwa Babatunde
  18. Iyanuoluwa Olorode
  19. Oluremi Opogbemi
  20. Onyedikachi Eze

For the short film category:

  1. Aishat Abiri
  2. Inem King
  3. Sewedo Wusa

In addition to Ms Eyinade, judges who will decide the winner of TCSP include: for the short story category – Adeboro Odunlami and Salem King.
For the Short Film Category, we have Pst Anwili Ojekeire (The Winlos) and Ibeleye Fele Amabibi

(Visited 764 times, 1 visits today)

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *